PDA

View Full Version : X... configure: error: Can't find X includes

kruppe
April 3rd, 2005, 01:01 AM
I am trying to ./configure a package after installing all the recommended development tools, packages and gcc I get the folling error:

checking for X... configure: error: Can't find X includes. Please check your installation and add the correct paths!

The package I'm trying to configure is synce-kde. I eventually installed it with apt-get but would like to know, how to compile from the sources. I'm new to the whole configure, make, make install environment.

Thanks. :wink:

mirtux
April 3rd, 2005, 02:30 PM
Hi,
i think you have also to install these two packages:
x-dev
libx11-dev

maybe just one of the two is enough for your needs but they are quite small packages.

Regards,
MC

Permafrost91
January 8th, 2006, 07:37 PM
I have both packages installed (x-dev and libx11-dev) as well as numerous other x11 dev packages and I still get the Can't find X includes error message when trying to compile a KDE theme. Any ideas about what I am missing (KDE dev files maybe?)

pfarmer
January 11th, 2006, 02:45 PM
Hi,

Try installing kdebase-dev.

HTH

Permafrost91
January 15th, 2006, 09:53 PM
Yes, thank you, that did the trick ... I had realized that earlier but I forgot to edit the post. Thanks for the input though!

no1pointguard
January 30th, 2006, 06:38 PM
i'm having same problem trying to install taskjuggler2.2.0 can anyone help need this to get organised. i'm a newbie so be gentle

snowsquirrel
March 1st, 2006, 02:30 AM
cut and paste the output from ./configure, and I can probably help.

~S

uantuzri
April 23rd, 2006, 10:12 PM
I have the same problem:

checking for X... configure: error: Can't find X includes. Please check your installation and add the correct paths!

I used apt-get to install kdebase-dev, but some paqueges were not installed:
mesa-common-dev_6.5.0-0ubuntu 1_all.deb
libgl1-mesa-dev_6.5.0-0ubuntu 1_i386.deb
libglu1-mesa-dev_6.5.0-0ubunt u1_i386.deb