PDA

View Full Version : How do I compile a kernel (Linux Newb)

SolidStClair
April 8th, 2005, 06:15 PM
Hi, I am fairly new to Linux and I love Ubuntu. I want to recompile my kernel to get my system running faster, but I have no idea where to begin. Can someone please write out some directions for me? Thanks.

Dell Latitude Cpx H 500 mhz PIII (non-speedstep)
448 MB PC 100 RAM
30 GB HDD
ATI Mobility 8 MB AGP 2x
ESS Maestro 2E

az
April 8th, 2005, 07:13 PM
Open a terminal.

sudo apt-get install build-essential linux-source-2.6 libncurses5-dev kernel-package

cd /usr/src
tar xvjf linux-source*
cd linux-source
cp /boot/config-2.6.10.5-386 .config
sudo make menuconfig

cofigure the heck out of your kernel

sudo make-kpkg --revision-1 --append-to-version=mykerne1 kernel_image kernel_headers

cd ..
sudo dpkg -i linux-image-2.6.10*.deb

Seriously, this probably will not make your system go any faster.

jdong
April 8th, 2005, 08:59 PM
I want to recompile my kernel to get my system running faster,

That is quite a misconception.... I have a i386 and athlon-k7 optimized kernel on my system, and am using an AMD64. I cannot measure or feel any difference in speed.

shakin
April 8th, 2005, 09:43 PM
That is quite a misconception.... I have a i386 and athlon-k7 optimized kernel on my system, and am using an AMD64. I cannot measure or feel any difference in speed.

I agree. Compile if you want specific functionality that you can't get by default. Don't let the Gentoo folks fool you into thinking you need to compile anything to gain speed :)

CRCampbell
April 8th, 2005, 10:53 PM
Down with Gentoo! Heretics and insulters of our great Ubuntu Nation!

az
April 8th, 2005, 11:20 PM
Alrighty.

*Ahem*.

I think Ubuntu attracts many people. Possibly many people tried linux years ago when it was recommended to recompile a kernel after you install. This is no longer the case.

The message to these people is:

1- Welcome back.