Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: fstab problem

Beans

fstab problem

Hello, I am sorry I am posting on ubuntu forum when I am a Linux Mint user but when I was searching for help, this forum (especially this thread) seems to me like the right way to go.

I already posted on here on Linux Mint forum and described my problem there but I am still in the same problems which I was in yesterday. There are pieces of advice by others and they might describe problem better and give you more useful information than copy and paste my text I posted there.

I have been using Mint for four months, in booting/mounting/etc I am a total noob.

Thanks for any help, I am desperate

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

Re: fstab problem

That fstab shows your root partition as read-only. Change that line from:
    Code:
    UUID=3cbb67e7-2aee-4a20-9544-2de13b9447ac  /            ext4  ro                       0  1
    to:
    Code:
    UUID=3cbb67e7-2aee-4a20-9544-2de13b9447ac  /            ext4  errors=remount          0  1

Beans

But how? I cant edit anything in nano, not in recovery mode, even not as an admin user, it keeps saying "read only file system" (or something very similar, I use my language version).

Beans
    Distro

Boot up into your LiveCD or USB, mount that partition and edit the file that way.

Beans

I tried according to this, and:

Code:
    root@ubuntu:~# mkdir rootmount
    root@ubuntu:~# mount -t ext4 /dev/sda9 ~/rootmount
    root@ubuntu:~# sudo cp ~/rootmount/etc/fstab ~/rootmount/etc/fstab.broken
    so far no problem

root@ubuntu:~# sudo cp ~ /rootmount/etc/fstab.bak ~/rootmount/etc/fstab
    after this its saying this: 
    cp: target `/home/ubuntu/rootmount/etc/fstab' is not a directory

Beans
    Distro