Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 84

Thread: HOWTO: TV-out in Hoary (nVidia?)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Beans
    18

    HOWTO: TV-out in Hoary (nVidia?)

    My first HOWTO, so don't shout at me, if there is anything wrong
    Let me know, if it's working on ATIs card too

    Some parts borrowed from Official Gentoo HOWTOs.

    Becouse I want to use TV-out only sometimes, eg. to watch movie, listen to music, play in DOOM, or show my little sister kids movie, in this time doing something on my lappy, I had to set up separate screens. So, get up and go work :]

    At first, you had to made this in term:
    Code:
    $ sudo cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.backup
    It will make backup of your x.org config file.
    Now, apt-get nvtv by this:
    Code:
    $ sudo apt-get install nvtv
    Next thing which you need to do is edit your xconf file.
    Code:
    $ sudo gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    First thing, which we will change in conf file, will be adding TV as next monitor and changing name of default monitor. Seek for Monitor section, and change monitor identifier to:
    Code:
    Identifier "Monitor[0]" #CRT
    Now, under this section, add following:
    Code:
     Section "Monitor" 
        Identifier "Monitor[1]" #TV 
        HorizSync 60 
        VertRefresh 30-150 
     EndSection
    If you need, change HorizSync and VertRefresh, but this values should work fine on most new TVs.
    Second thing, which we will change in config file, will be adding TV-output as next device and changing name of default device. Seek for Device section, and change monitor identifier to:
    Code:
       Identifier      "Device[0]"
    In the same section add:
    Code:
    screen 0
    .
    Now, under this section, add following:
    Code:
    Section "Device" 
       Driver          "nvidia" 
       Identifier      "Device[1]" 
       Screen 1 
       Option          "TVOutFormat" "Composite" #or S-VIDEO etc 
       Option          "TVStandard" "PAL-G" #or NTSC etc 
       Option          "ConnectedMonitor" "Monitor[1]" 
       BusID           "PCI:1:0:0" #adjust using 'lspci' or cat /proc/pci 
    EndSection
    If you are in country which don't use PAL, change it to your TV standard.
    Now, seek for Screen section, and change Identifier, Monitor and Screen to following:
    Code:
       Identifier  "Screen[0]" 
       Device      "Device[0]" 
       Monitor     "Monitor[0]"
    Under this add:
    Code:
    Section "Screen" 
       Device "Device[1]" 
       Identifier "Screen[1]" 
       Monitor "Monitor[1]" 
       DefaultDepth 24 
           SubSection "Display" 
                   Depth 24 
                   Modes "1024x768" 
           EndSubSection    
    EndSection
    And change/add to your config file serverlayout:
    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout" 
       Identifier  "Simple Layout" 
           Screen 0 "Screen[0]" 
           Screen 1 "Screen[1]" RightOf "Screen[0]" 
       InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer" 
       InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard" 
    EndSection
    Remember to check name of your mouse and keyboard, and change it names. You can find names of input devices in Input device section as following:
    Code:
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier	"Generic Keyboard"
    	Driver		"keyboard"
    	Option		"CoreKeyboard"
    	Option		"XkbRules"	"xfree86"
    	Option		"XkbModel"	"pc105"
    	Option		"XkbLayout"	"gb"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier	"Configured Mouse"
    	Driver		"mouse"
    	Option		"CorePointer"
    	Option		"Device"		"/dev/input/mice"
    	Option		"Protocol"		"ImPS/2"
    	Option		"Emulate3Buttons"	"true"
    	Option		"ZAxisMapping"		"4 5"
    EndSection
    Identifier is name of device. If name of your input device is diffrent, change Mouse1 or Keyboard1 from above server layout code to your needs.
    Now save xorg.conf.
    At now, we will add small bash feature, which will let us to run players on second screen easly.
    Do following in terminal:
    Code:
    $ sudo gedit /etc/bash.bashrc
    Add following section on end:
    Code:
    tv()
    {
      if [ "$1" == "" ]; then
        echo "usage: tv program name"
      else
        DISPLAY=:0.1 $1
      fi
    }
    And you will be able to run e.g. Totem on second display by typing in terminal (or ALT+F2 and checked "Run in terminal"):
    Code:
    $ tv totem movie.avi
    Nice feature for Kubuntu users, which will allow them to run movies from context menu. If somebody know trick like this for GNOME, let me know.
    Add this entry to:
    Code:
    ~/.kde/share/apps/konqueror/servicemenus/nameofyourchoice.desktop
    Code:
    [Desktop Entry]
    Actions=PlayOnTV
    Encoding=UTF-8
    ServiceTypes=video/*
    
    [Desktop Action PlayOnTV]
    Exec=mplayer -display localhost:1 %F
    Name=Play this movie on TV
    Icon=yast_tv
    Before you ask! Check twice:
    • did you changed names of all devices, screens and monitors in xorg.conf?
    • did you rebooted Xs (by CTRL+ALT+Backspace)
    • did you ended script in bash.rc by } ?
    • did you close all sections in xorg.conf?
    • did you installed nvtv?


    Have a nice day!
    Last edited by Promethe; April 3rd, 2005 at 01:16 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Austria / Hallein
    Beans
    51
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Smile Re: HOWTO: TV-out in Hoary (nVidia?)

    really cool howto. i will use it for my dvr box in the living room

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Beans
    163

    Re: HOWTO: TV-out in Hoary (nVidia?)

    Great initiative, well done.
    One thing though, I don't think nvtv works will all nvidia cards.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Beans
    47

    Re: HOWTO: TV-out in Hoary (nVidia?)

    Quote Originally Posted by Bo Rosén
    Great initiative, well done.
    One thing though, I don't think nvtv works will all nvidia cards.
    This is true, and my card is one of them (Geforce 420 GO). I got tv-out working via an alternate method though. Simply add this to the Device section of your xorg.conf file:
    Code:
    Option "TwinView" "true"
    Option "TwinViewOrientation" "Clone"
    Option "TVOutFormat" "COMPOSITE"
    Option "TVStandard" "NTSC-M"
    Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30-50"
    Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "60"
    Option "MetaModes" "1024x768,1024x768;800x600,800x600;640x480,640x480;512x384,512x384"
    You can set MetaModes, TVStandard and TVOutFormat to whatever is appropriate to your setup.
    The way this works is if you have a tv plugged in when the x server starts, it will clone your main screen, if you don't it will ignore this section. So, if you want to watch something on a tv, just connect the cable and restart the x server. Arguably this is not as elegant as the nvtv solution, but it is less complex and seems to work on my hardware at least.
    Last edited by Klin'Targ; April 8th, 2005 at 05:01 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Beans
    18

    Re: HOWTO: TV-out in Hoary (nVidia?)

    Klin - above solution let's you create two diffrent, independent from each other X sessions - so you can play DOOM 3 on one, and on second you can watch newest SG-1
    Your solution lets only clone desktop...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Beans
    159

    Re: HOWTO: TV-out in Hoary (nVidia?)

    If you want to play Doom3 and watch SG-1 on new cards (without nvtv nor TwinView):

    Code:
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier "monitor1"
        VendorName "LG"
        HorizSync 30-71
        VertRefresh 50-160
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier "monitor2"
        VendorName "Philips"
        HorizSync 30-40
        VertRefresh 50
        DisplaySize 412 310
        ModeLine "720x576/50p" 27 720 744 800 864 576 581 583 625 #27.0 MHz, 31.2 kHz, 50.0 Hz
        Modeline "800x600/50p" 31.60 800 824 968 1000 600 602 603 632 #31.6 MHz, 31.6 kHz, 50.0 Hz
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier "device1"
        VendorName "nVidia"
        BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce FX5200"
        Driver "nvidia"
        Option "DPMS"
        Option "NoLogo" "true"
        Option "RenderAccel" "true"
        BusID  "PCI:1:0:0"
        Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT"
        Option "HWCursor" "On"
        Option "NvAGP" "2"
        Screen 0
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier "device2"
        VendorName "nVidia"
        BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce FX5200"
        Driver "nvidia"    
        Option "NoLogo" "true"
        Option "RenderAccel" "true"
        BusID  "PCI:1:0:0"
        Option "ConnectedMonitor" "TV"
        Option "TVStandard" "PAL-B"
        Option "TVOutFormat" "SVIDEO"
        Option "IgnoreEDID" "true"
        Option "HWCursor" "On"
        Option "NvAGP" "2"
        Screen 1
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier "screen1"
        Device "device1"
        Monitor "monitor1"
        DefaultColorDepth 24
        
        Subsection "Display"
            Depth 8
            Virtual 1024 768
        EndSubsection
        
        Subsection "Display"
            Depth 15
            Virtual 1024 768
        EndSubsection
        
        Subsection "Display"
            Depth 16
            Virtual 1024 768
        EndSubsection
        
        Subsection "Display"
            Depth 24
            Virtual 1024 768
        EndSubsection
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier "screen2"
        Device "device2"
        Monitor "monitor2"
        DefaultColorDepth 24
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier "layout0"
        InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
        InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
        Screen 0 "screen1"
        Screen 1 "screen2" rightOf "screen1"
    EndSection
    Note this is MY x.org, there are extra options not needed and I use a PAL 50Hz TV (1024 is supported, but I still have to find a 1024x768 50Hz modeline that is accepted).

    But this is explained better on the readme of nVidia drivers. Basically you must create two "Screen", "Device" and "Monitor" and use that 'Screen 1 "screen2" rightOf "screen1"' on "ServerLayout".
    In "Device" is VERY IMPORTANT to put "BusID" and "Screen".

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Espoo, Finland
    Beans
    6
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.06 Dapper

    Re: HOWTO: TV-out in Hoary (nVidia?)

    Thanks for the nice howto, I think I got it working. Is it somehow possible to switch completely to the tv screen, so that I could use mouse and everything there? The tv-script works with totem at least, but it's not too convenient when you have to use keyboard shortcuts and stuff...

    edit: some typos

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Minnesota
    Beans
    726

    Re: HOWTO: TV-out in Hoary (nVidia?)

    Wow i cant wait to try this at home

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Umeå, Sweden
    Beans
    1

    Re: HOWTO: TV-out in Hoary (nVidia?)

    Is there any way to disable mouse-switching-thingy. So it doesent swith screen when moving the mousecursor to the edge of the screen.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Espoo, Finland
    Beans
    6
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.06 Dapper

    Re: HOWTO: TV-out in Hoary (nVidia?)

    Quote Originally Posted by yarc
    Is there any way to disable mouse-switching-thingy. So it doesent swith screen when moving the mousecursor to the edge of the screen.
    Hehe, thanks for answering my question... I didn't notice that

Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •