Thread: Howto automatically install apps/plugins ubuntuguide.org

Beans

Howto automatically install apps/plugins ubuntuguide.org

This bash script allows you to choose which apps/plugins to install as seen on http://ubuntuguide.org for 5.04 hoary. Also immediately after install flash, java, php for apache you can verify it's success.

download lastest script at http://mrbass.org/linux/ubuntu

I'm not very good at script writing so laugh as you will. I worked on this from 3pm till 3am. Lot of typos, testing, re-testing and did I mention testing? It seems to work good but as always glad to hear any feedback. Especially if mysql password is set correctly, RP-PPPoe since I can't test that. Also if anyone knows how to from a script add the menu items that'd save me from searching google and looking it up.

Things to do:
    - automate adding menu items for the following:
    Azureus, Limewire, LinPopUp, RSSOwl, NVU, Nvidia-Settings, RP-PPPoE, MySQL Control Center

I added inkscape (vector graphics editor) and may add a few more like realplayer since helix doesn't play any realvideo. Remember if prompts you to install each app so you can choose which ones you want and don't.

Last time I tried Ubuntu it didn't recognize my wireless card so I gave up on it. This time 5.04 hoary recognizes it and it just works. I've mainly been using mepis so that's where I'm coming from. So far ubuntu is great (using it for 2 days now). I just swore I'd never do and cut and paste fest again (thus the reason for this script).
    Last edited by mrbass; April 12th, 2005 at 12:47 AM.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Jaunty Jackalope (testing)

Re: Howto automatically install apps/plugins ubuntuguide.org

Nice work, but hasn't ubuntu-geek done something similar here?
    Linux Registered User: 381155

Beans
    Distro
    Gutsy Gibbon Testing

Another simular project can be found here : http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=22860

Beans