Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Ubuntu Corporate Edition

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Ubuntu Corporate Edition

Hi Folks.

I work as a systems tech for a reasonably large organisation with a few thousand deployed desktops and a couple of hundred servers. Other than using Sun Solaris for a couple of web-servers, Microsoft solutions are used for all desktop and server roles.

I've managed to sneak Ubuntu based servers into a couple of roles like web-content-filtering and wireless routing, and I must say my experiences with Ubuntu have been largely positive and it stands up well in the roles I've deployed it in.

That said, i wouldn't deploy Ubuntu into a desktop role. What's more my bosses wouldn't let me even if I tried. Let me try to explain why...

The organisation I work for has spend a fortune on deploying Microsoft server technologies and they underpin all that it does. Active Directory to authenticate users to resources, Exchange technologies for organisation and email, File Servers for well... serving files! The list goes on and on. Microsoft Windows XP slides nicely into this organisational infrastructure without fuss because that's what it's designed to do. I can't grab a copy of Ubuntu, install it, join it to my domain, and grab my email out of the box.

That's not because the standards used to accomplish this are closed, they're available and doing the good majority of the stuff above is achievable in Linux. The problem is that it's not very easy to get stuff like LDAP authentication and group policy login scripts enabled in Linux from scratch.

This is a bad thing. Because it's difficult to do and because many organisations have a heavily invested in Microsoft infrastructure there is often little chance of Linux being introduced to the desktop in enterprise.

Introducing it to enterprise is possible though...

I've been looking at the Ubuntu projects here. Projects have been created for a range of needs, why not enterprise?