Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: HOWTO: Canon PIXMA IP4000 drivers

Beans

HOWTO: Canon PIXMA IP4000 drivers

This is a HOWTO install the canon pixma ip4000 drivers, released by canon japan and downloaded from: ftp://download.canon.jp/pub/driver/bj/linux/
    There are also drivers for ip3000 and ip8500, which i assume would also install in the same manner described here (not tested). The source code for the pixma range is also in that url so it might be possible to compile drivers for the other pixmas (for ip1000 and ip1500).

Limitations of the driver are:
    1. No duplex printing
    2. No CD-R printing
    I 've tested the driver printing text and pictures in plain paper only(I don't have special paper but should work fine). Picture quality seems to be the same as in winxp. The colour tone looks to be just a bit reddish in some pictures (with default settings) but this can be fixed playing around with colour settings.

I'm still a newbie and i don't know much about cups so i expect recommendations for better functionality. I found hints on installing in these threads:
    http://www.linuxprinting.org/forums.....canon.general
    http://forum.kanotix.net/viewtopic.php?t=7784 (in german, translated through http://www.systranbox.com/systran/box)

In japan pixma printers are released under different names:
    pixus ip3100 -> pixma ip3000
    pixus ip4100 -> pixma ip4000
    pixus ip8600 -> pixma ip8500

The HOWTO:
    1. Install required packages
    Install alien with synaptic
    Install libxml1 with synaptic (required later on to run canon's bjcups application)

2. Download Driver
    open terminal
    cd to your preferred download directory
    For ip4000:
    $ wget ftp://download.canon.jp/pub/driver/b....50-2.i386.rpm ftp://download.canon.jp/pub/driver/b....50-2.i386.rpm ftp://download.canon.jp/pub/driver/b....50-2.i386.rpm
    For ip3000: