Page 1 of 19 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: conky 1.3.0 -- lightweight system monitor for X

Beans

Cool conky 1.3.0 -- lightweight system monitor for X

Hi everyone. not sure if this is the right place to post this, and I am not going to spam or anything, but here goes.

I would like to recommend you check out a little program called conky, which is a lightweight, highly configurable system monitor for X. a descendent of the now-defunct torsmo. its main purpose is to be uninvading and consume *very little* resources, much much less than gdesklets and gkrellm.

of course, you want screenshots , so find them under "screenshots" at http://conky.sf.net pretty documentation there too, as opposed to the rather long man page.

Conky 1.3.0, released just yesterday is out and about. download at http://www.sf.net/projects/conky there's a debian package too now, made by yours truly , and hopefully it'll appear in the ubuntu repos for breezy in a month or two.

coincidentally, i'm a conky developer. if you need help, post here, or join #conky on irc, or http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t...ght-conky.html (freakish 20+ pages though).

post bugs/feature requests at http://sourceforge.net/tracker/?group_id=143975

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

Re: conky 1.3.0 -- lightweight system monitor for X

Quote Originally Posted by jtan325
    I would like to recommend you check out a little program called conky, which is a lightweight, highly configurable system monitor for X. a descendent of the now-defunct torsmo.
    Thanx for the post. I've give it a try right after I found the posting at freshmeat.

It looks very nice and I think I'll use it. Nevertheless, there are some drawbacks (the same torsmo have...).

The old "flicker" problems still exists (with nautilus) if I set own_window to no. Any solutions on the roadmap?

If I turn on own_window, it is possible to click on the window to put it on top of all other windows. Is there a way to fix it as lowest window?