Page 1 of 31 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Picking the Kernel thats Right for You (Possible Speed Increase)

Beans

Picking the Kernel thats Right for You (Possible Speed Increase)

STAFF NOTE:

Since the naming convention -- and the generic kernel -- changed after version 6.06, Dapper Drake, selecting a different kernel may or may not have any effect on your system. Please research the kernel options that match your release, remembering that the default kernel -- linux-generic in Feisty -- in some versions of Ubuntu is probably already appropriate for your CPU.

Thanks.
    K.Mandla

-----------

Disclaimer

This section is about messing with the kernel and that can be tricky business. Has never messed up for me, but it is a little nerdy. Look here if you want to learn and maybe get a speed boast (or if you have a dual core/dual processor/hyperthreading machine because you WILL get a performance boost). Use at you own risk, I am not a kernel developer or anything.

Be sure not to install the linux-image package instead or things will probably break! If you have done that just install the correct package and things will fix themselves.

Introduction

I have noticed some recent confusion in the forum when it comes to kernels, so I want to explain some things I have discovered. I hope it helps.

So you just installed Ubuntu but you don't think its going as fast as you think it should? Maybe you have just been advised to install a new kernel so you want to know more.

In Synaptic, if you search for “linux-image” you will find many kernels. Each its follows by some numbers and letters in some order. I will now explain those differences and what each means.

Notes:

- This guide does not apply to the PPC or 64 bit version of Ubuntu.

- If you have a heavily modified setup this might not work. For example if you have installed some drivers "by hand" and not from the repositories.