Thread: How to: Xubuntu with Nautilus

Beans
    This is my first attempt at a how to. I tried just about everything to get my Xubuntu running with as much functionality as I had in Gnome, I am running a lot of gnome as you will see.

Incert the Ubuntu install CD into the CD-drive
    when the boot screen comes up type "server" and press enter
    after the server install is complete the fun begins

open up the source-list with the nano editor

"sudo nano /etc/apt/sources.list"
    uncomment the universe repositories and save&exit (ctrl-x)

"apt-get update"
    "apt-get dist-upgrade"
    "apt-get install Xubuntu-desktop gdm"

installing gdm because a display manager makes logging in nicer

next I wanted to use Nautilus because it has a lot of functionality that you just can't get from rox, thunar, and xffm. The only drawback I see using Nautilus is its slower, but I don't really see the difference on my system.

Ok first you need to apt-get nautilus, another drawback is it brings a lot of gnome with it.

open a terminal:

"apt-get install nautilus"

Once its installed to get it to not draw the desktop the best way I have found is a method psychicdragon mentioned in another post.

open a terminal and enter:

"gconftool-2 -s /apps/nautilus/preferences/show_desktop -t bool false"

this stopped nautilus from drawing my desktop everytime I logged in. To change the file manager in the Xfce menu right click the Xfce menu button select properties and copy the menu file:

"/etc/xdg/xfce4/desktop/menu.xml"

open a terminal:

"sudo mousepad /etc/xdg/xfce4/desktop/menu.xml"

scroll down to <xfdesktop-menu> and change <app name="File Manager" cmd="rox" icon="file-manager"/> to <app name="File Manager" cmd="nautilus" icon="file-manager"/> here is what is should look like:

<xfdesktop-menu>

<app name="Run Program..." cmd="xfrun4" icon="gnome-fs-executable"/>

<separator/>

<app name="Terminal" cmd="xfterm4" tip="Terminal emulator" icon="gnome-terminal"/>