Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: HOWTO : Fix 'ALERT! : dev/XYZ does not exist' after upgrade to Dapper Drake

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Smile HOWTO : Fix 'ALERT! : dev/XYZ does not exist' after upgrade to Dapper Drake

I will begin by saying that I am still new to Linux and learning myself every day. This HOWTO is the result of several failed installations attempts of Dapper (and upgrading to it from Breezy). I am documenting my experiences in the hope that someone else won't spend an entire week trying to fix the problems I had.

Scenario

You have Breezy Badger installed on your PC. You have an IDE disk connected to your IDE0 channel on the motherboard with, for arguments sake, a Windows partition and an Ubuntu partition on your disk. On your other IDE channel, IDE1, you have a CDROM\DVD Drive. You also have some other drives connected to an IDE adaptor (the number is insignificant but it could be several).

You decide to upgrade from Breezy Badger to Dapper Drake. You do the necessary upgrade steps, and everything seems to run without a hitch. You reboot. And your faced with a tragedy that looks something similar to the following :

Code:

Ubuntu Logo Here

Loading Essential Drivers :                 [OK]
    Mounting Root File System :                blank
    Waiting for root filesystem :              blank

It sits there for 3 or 4 minutes until eventually your faced with a black screen and a terminal shell with a message along the lines of

Code:
    Begin: Waiting for root file system... ...
    Cannot find /dev/hda2
    ALERT : dev/hda2 does not exist

BusyBox Built In Shell
    #_